Night Sins by Lisa Renee Jones is a quick read, novella, about a vampire protector (Ethan) and a Watcher (Kayla).  It was first published in 2008 as part of an anthology and will be re-released on June 21st.  It’s steamy and there’s so much heat generated by Kayla and Ethan, I don’t know how they could be in the same room without jumping each other at all times.

I really enjoyed the feel of this story.  There was female empowerment with women being chosen to keep cities safe and empathetic enough to feel intentions of others when the others couldn’t.  I enjoyed the paranormal world that Jones created with Watchers protecting humans from paranormal but also having vampire counterparts who also protected and did the same, just in a different fashion.  Then there was Kayla and Ethan, with all the steam that they generated, how did they live in the same city and not be in bed the entire time?

This novella felt like the beginning of a series.  At the time of this review, there is no mention of a new paranormal series on Lisa Renee Jones’ website and being that it was first published in 2008, it doesn’t give me much hope.  Also, she has so many series going on that I doubt she would be starting a totally new one — but please let me be wrong!

The one thing that I can’t get over is that ending did not feel totally complete – which is the reason I’m hoping that this will be a series.  This is also coming from someone who doesn’t feel that a novel is complete without a epilogue – so I get that this could be entirely on me.  But at the end, we are left with a lot of questions with regard to the Vampire King, his association to the Brotherhood and there are so many more places that this romance could go.  LRJ – I really hope you continue this story, or at least, write a full legnth novel for Kayla and Ethan.

*ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.